Dear Santa…all I want for Christmas is a job

I had my 4th job interview scheduled with a company when I received this email:

I have some tough news, we lost our 2nd largest client on Monday which puts us in a difficult short-term financial situation to make a hiring decision.  I met with my CFO today and decided to circle back to the possibility first thing in 2010.  For the time being it is best if we cancel our next meeting.  We really enjoyed getting to know you and feel like you’d be an excellent fit here for several reasons.  While I hope you can successfully find a position before we are ready to move forward I would like to keep in touch in case our financial situation changes.  Thanks for taking the time to meet with us.  All the Best.

FUCKKKKKKKKKKK!  I have now been unemployed for 2 1/2 months.  As a single parent, that blew her savings wad on a new car a month before being laid off…I’m kinda fucked. 

Thankfully, my sweet little boy (yes, I have successfully eliminated the aggressive behavior…until he comes back from his next visit with Daddy O in 2 weeks), asked Santa for a pillow this year.  Yes, a pillow.  He is creating a “pillow monster” and is short 1 pillow for his creation.  So, I dodged a Nintendo…or some other outrageously overpriced holiday toy.  Phew!  (Yes, Santa got him a little something else too).

So back to where I was…I’m really trying hard not to lose faith that there is a job out there for me soon, but it’s becoming increasingly difficult as the holiday is right around the corner.  This mama is going to have to suck it up and ask my family for some financial help again.  I am tremendously thankful I have them, but they aren’t “ballin'” either…so this isn’t exactly my proudest moment.

Leave a Reply

