Leaving It On The Field

I am obsessed with Fantasy Football.  I am in a league at my job…I mean, at my former job.  And, might I add that I am a reigning champion. 

So…the day after my lay-off (they were kind enough to give me two weeks notice of my lay-off, so I’m still at work for a bit), I pass the head boss lady in the hall.  She immediately puts her head down and walks away.  Then about a minute later I get this text:  I want to talk to u, but I will just start crying.  Can we grab lunch next week?  Ok, I’m not so sure what to think about this.  I understand that she feels guilty, but its business – I get that.  But, what I don’t understand is not owning up and facing the outcome of your decision.  Hmmmm….anyway, I’ll get over that.

Back to where I was…out of all the people that I have to play this week in Fantasy Football?  You guessed it – the boss lady.   I mean, smack talk is half the fun.  I suppose I will abstain this week, but it doesn’t mean that I don’t really, really, really want to throw out a little side wager:  You lose…I keep my job?  You lose…I get to keep my health insurance? 

Some how or another, I don’t think she would find that too funny.  I guess I will just have to settle for victory on the field this week.

Leave a Reply

