The “God” Complex

The following are symptoms of someone with Narcissistic Personality Disorder (NPD).  These are actual quotes from my ex-husband…I swear!  I know it is hard to believe, but I took no comedic liberties to embellish these quotes:

•    Has a grandiose sense of self-importance (e.g., exaggerates achievements and talents, expects to be recognized as superior without commensurate achievements)
“I am THE John Roberts.  You really think you can fuck with me and win?”

•    Lacks empathy: is unwilling to recognize or identify with the feelings and needs of others
“I already have a son that I see all the time, I don’t need to see the other one that much.”

npd

•    Believes that he or she is “special” and unique and can only be understood by, or should associate with, other special or high-status people (or institutions)
“Me and your brother are the smartest people I know.”

•    Has a sense of entitlement, i.e., unreasonable expectations of especially favorable treatment or automatic compliance with his or her expectations
“Amy does whatever I tell her to do.” (In reference to his current wife.)

•    Is interpersonally exploitative, i.e., takes advantage of others to achieve his or her own ends
“You can keep your car, only if you don’t get a lawyer.  If you get a lawyer, I will take away everything you have – including your child.”

•    Is often envious of others or believes that others are envious of him or her
“You only wish you were as happy as I am.”

•    Shows arrogant, haughty behaviors or attitudes
I had to include this one here…it’s my all time favorite!  “If you had a better attitude, maybe your baby daddy would buy you some things.”

Leave a Reply

